Trying to be greener

On my recent visit to the states besides being on vacation i was on a mission.
I had a list of some eco friendly greener articles that I needed.

I can’t get this item on any of my stores here in Puerto Rico and they have it on Target. I got the 10.0 .oz bottle of 25 loads for $8.00. Sadly on my way back home the bottle kind of opened up and I lost some of the liquid when i placed it on my luggage. As soon as I got home I used it on my bedding and like it says on the bottle only four pumps for each load and you are good to go. What makes this item a green item uses an ultra concentrated plant-based formula that delivers big cleaning power with just a few tiny squirts. a 35% smaller carbon footprint than conventional detergent and it is made from 50% recycled plastic. You can find more information and products at methodhome.com

Scotch-Brite: Greener Clean Natural Fiber Non-Scratch Scrub Sponge

Got the pack of three at Walmart. I am using one right now. The to feel of the sponge is different. Doesn’t feel like plastic at all. I added some soap and it doesnt make all that bubbles but it does clean. The scrub part really works without messing up your pots and pans. The scrubber have not detached from the sponge and that is good normally the scrubber detaches from the regular sponges.  What makes this item a green item the non-scratch scrubbing fibers are made from 50% natural agave plant, packaging is made from 100 recycled content.

Honestly I just liked the way the box looked. I used one of the scrubbers soap is already gone after a few uses. I got the six pack one at Walmart. The soap is biodegradable and phosphorous-free, it is rust and splinter-free, the packaging is made from 100% recycled content and one 12 oz plastic bottle makes enough fiber to produce approximately 6 soap pads.

So to wrap up my review. I think that buying items that are made from recycled items is a great idea and everyone should start doing it. it might cost a little bit more but you will be happy at the end. Often this recycled material items last more than the other items.

In my house sadly we use lots of disposable plates. This seems like a great idea since you don’t have to do the dishes but if you give it a little of thought to this [like I did] you will see that you are not helping at all to all this global warming. Instead of keeping up with the tradition of the disposable foam plates I only use ceramic or regular dine ware and wash them. That way you reduce your trash in your house. I also have my recycling trash can I am very proud to say that I hardly fill it up. Makes me happy.

For example.. take the laundry detergent. Even when I live in my parents house I do my own laundry. This little bottle of 25 loads will last me longer since I hardly do two loads a week. Most of the detergents can be use with cold water so that saves you money too.  Give eco-friendly items a chance if you have family try to get them on the greener movement and if they don’t get on it well you can always be a good example to them.

2 thoughts on “Trying to be greener

Leave a Reply

